Myths and Misconceptions of End-Point Assessment

With the rise of End-Point Assessment over the past couple of years, a lot of misconceptions have popped up along the way. So, we want to clear up these myths and misconceptions so that we can all be on the same page when talking all things EPA!

myths and misconceptions of end-point assessment

Does the Level 3 EPA Award Qualify me work in End-Point Assessment?

In short, no.

The Level 3 Award in Understanding End-Point Assessment was developed by the awarding body and End-Point Assessment Organisation, Highfield. They are the only awarding body that offer this qualification and the only EPAO to require Independent End-Point Assessors (IEPAs) to hold this qualification…

The vast majority of End-Point Assessment Organisations will instead require require you to hold an industry standard assessor qualification; like the Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (or equivalent).

Is End-Point Assessment replacing Internal Quality Assurance?

No, absolutely not.

Internal Quality Assurance is certainly still a necessity and it will not be replaced by End-Point Assessment. They are two completely different roles.

An IQA’s main responsibility is to quality check assessment decisions on learners completing qualifications. Whereas an IEPA is mainly responsible for carrying out assessments on an apprentice to determine whether or not they have passed their apprenticeship.

Do I need an IQA qualification to be an End-Point Assessor?

It’s certainly advisory, but it’s not actually an ‘across-the-board’ requirement.

It completely depends on two things; the requirements specified by the employer (EPAO) and the requirements set out in the assessment plan.

Some employers will just want you to have the Assessor qualification (CAVA), whilst some will also require you to have an IQA qualification as well. Furthermore, some Apprenticeships’ assessment plans specify that the IEPA must hold an IQA qualification, like the Level 3 Business Administrator.

Why can’t I find the End-Point assessment for an NVQ?

The reason you won’t be able to find an End-Point Assessment for any NVQs is because End-Point Assessments only happen in Apprenticeships. So you won’t find EPAs anywhere else. 

You can, however, find the End-Point Assessments for any Apprenticeship on the Institute for Apprenticeships website

Do I need to have experience in assessing before becoming an End-Point Assessor?

Nope. You don’t need experience in assessing before becoming an End-Point Assessor.

Unlike a lot of traditional assessor jobs where you find phrases like “experience in assessing required“, most IEPA positions are not as focused on the requirement for assessing experience. Instead, most EPAOs are far more concerned about prospective assessors having ‘current’ occupational experience. 

The End-Point Assessment Organisations we work closely with look for individuals who are even still working in their industry, or at least were up until very recently and then just get them to do the CAVA qualification. This then gives EPAOs the best of both worlds; a qualified assessor who has extensive and up-to-date knowledge and experience in their sector.


If there’s anything else you need to know about End-Point Assessment, take a look at our End-Point Assessment Knowledgebase

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *