What Qualification Do I Need To Become An Assessor?

A simple question which, unfortunately, doesn’t have as much of a simple answer. That’s because the requirements to become an Assessor can vary depending on the qualification or even the organisation. However; we’re here to make it clear to you – because whilst the answer isn’t super simple, it’s not rocket science.

What Do I Need?

In most scenarios, what you will need is:

  • Occupational Competence
  • An Assessor Qualification

Now, this is where it can get a little bit complicated, as there are in fact 4 different Assessor qualifications. All 4 of these are made up of at least 1 of the following units:

  • Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (Unit 1)
  • Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment (Unit 2)
  • Assess Vocational Skills, Knowledge and Understanding (Unit 3)

Consequently, the more units that are in a qualification, the more competent you will become in Assessing.

This blog on FENews, ‘Qualifications Needed To Become An Assessor‘ written by Brooks and Kirk’s Marketing Manager Sam, explains each and every unit and qualification perfectly. 

2 thoughts on “What Qualification Do I Need To Become An Assessor?

  • February 12, 2019 at 10:23 pm

    Are you not required to have candidates to assess to complete course.?
    Secondly I have the pttls level 2. Dies this qualification contribute to cava

    • February 13, 2019 at 9:47 am

      Hi Jane.

      Yes, you are required to have access to learners to assess to complete the CAVA course. At Brooks and Kirk we can provide the learners for you.
      There are occasions where the PTTLS Level 3 does cross-over to CAVA. However, this would depend on a variety of circumstances.
      If you’d like some more info please feel free to drop us a call on 01205 805 155 🙂



Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *